Vuelta a Espana 2014 Title Won By Alberto Contador For The Third Time

Alberto Contador (Team Tinkoff-Saxo) had withdrawn from the 2014 Tour de France after he unfortunately broke his leg during the 10th stage of the tour. After just two months of the crash, Alberto Contador was able to make a noteworthy comeback at the 2014 Vuelta a Espana.

In all the stages of this cycling event, Contador performed exceptionally well. In the final 21st stage of Vuelta a Espana he was around one minute and thirty seconds behind Adriano Malori (Movistar Team) who won the final stage.

Contador was able to defeat Chris Froome (Team Sky) who became the runner up for this year’s Tour of Spain (Vuelta a Espana). The cyclist who stood in the third position overall at the tour was Alejandro Valverde (Movistar Team).

The 2014 Vuelta a Espana victory marks the sixth grand tour victory for Contador. It is also the third time that he has won this tour because previously he has won the Vuelta a Espana in the years 2008 and 2012.

According to Contador, he was really not expecting to win the title of the tour for the third time. He said that he has faced lots of troubles in the past 2 months but he is thankful for the support that his fans have extended towards him. Alberto Contador even thanked his team Tinkoff-Saxo for their support as without them he would have not won the tour this year.

Even Chris Froome like Contador had undergone some injury during the Tour de France 2014. However, Froome was quite happy with his performance at the 2014 Vuelta a Espana and he thinks his performance has motivated him to work even harder for the future.

Tour of Spain was the last grand tour for David Millar as he has decided to retire after this cycling season comes to an end.

Writen by Liam